Urgent: San Marco cornerstones on chopping block

Urgent: San Marco cornerstones on chopping block

hot newsThe Balis Community Center and the San Marco Library are cornerstones of San Marco, but both are on the chopping block.

The community center is targeted for elimination Thursday, Aug.15 in the Finance Committee meeting. The center was built in 2003 with $1 million of private money in a Public/Private Partnership, but the City of Jacksonville is about to turn its back on its community partners.

If closed, the Community Center and San Marco Library will sit vacant. Landon Middle School students will lose a safe space for after school. Children will lose access to programs and meals. Vacant buildings, vacant playground will mean neighborhood deterioration.

Email the Finance Committee Members by Thursday morning and ask them to restore funds to the Parks and Library budgets for Balis Community Center and San Marco Library.

Ask them to keep the center open, and allow local non-profits to run programming if necessary.

Finance Committee Members:

Greg Anderson, Chair: GAnderson@coj.net

Stephen Joost, Vice Chair: Joost@coj.net

Reginald L. Brown: RBrown@coj.net

Richard A. Clark: RClark@coj.net

Robin Lumb: RLumb@coj.net

Matt Schellenberg: MattS@coj.net

Clay E. Yarborough: Clay@coj.net

Dr. Johnny A. Gaffney: Gaffney@coj.net

John Crescembeni: JRC@coj.net

Please email District 5 Council Member Lori Boyer as well: LBoyer@coj.net.

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)
Loading...