St. Johns art students win awards in scholastic competition

St. Johns art students win awards in scholastic competition
Artwork by Haley Juskowski

Five students from Jacksonville’s historic neighborhoods were among 36 student artists from St. Johns Country Day School, to be recognized in the 2020 Scholastic Art & Writing Awards. Collectively, the St. John’s students took home 89 awards.

Haley Juskowski of Ortega Farms took home a Gold Key and an Honorable Mention. 

Abbey Lantinberg of San Jose was recognized with a Silver Key and an Honorable Mention, while Lulu Nowicki of Avondale earned a Silver Key, and Zoë Roberts of Murray Hill won a Gold Key. Sims Wulbern of Ortega Forest took home with three awards – two Honorable Mentions and a Silver Key.

“It’s a significant achievement to earn any of these awards,” said Visual Arts Department Chair Anna Reynolds-Patterson. “Each award represents our students’ dedication to creative and technical artistic skill. We are proud of these artists for excelling at this level, especially considering many of the awards were received by students still in Middle School.”

Since 1923, the Scholastic Art & Writing Awards have recognized the vision, ingenuity, and talent of youth throughout the United States and provided opportunities for creative teens to be celebrated. The Awards are presented by the Alliance for Young Artists & Writers. The Alliance is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization whose mission is to identify students with exceptional artistic and literary talent and present their remarkable work to the world through the Scholastic Art & Writing Awards. The Awards give students opportunities for recognition, exhibition, publication, and scholarships.

Students across America submitted nearly 320,000 original works this year in 29 different categories of art and writing.

Also winning awards for St. Johns were: Yashas Aprameya, Olivia Belland, Landon Brafford, Kassie Burton, Addison Ellis, Brooke Ferris, Kelsey Gregson, Kinley Hall, Kyla Hartwell, Lea Hartwell, Natalie Higingbotham, Desiree Holmberg, Anna Kemp, Mary Kate Kent, Khloe Lloyd, Michael Maytin , Tyce Moore, Ava Morin, Mia Morin, Riley Myers, Delaney Payton, Kylie Rodriguez, Kendall Sage, Noelle Sanford, Emma Schultz, Claire Trammell, Laney Valdivia, Reagan Wagstaff, Laura Walden, Ruihong Wang, and Sophia Woolard.

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)