Annual preservation awards included surprises

Annual preservation awards included surprises
Riverside Avondale Preservation Board of Directors, front: Angela Schifanella, Maggie Theoni, Michele Luthin, Nancy Powell; back: Thad Crow, Rick Pariani, Bill Shelton, Lawson Carr, Laurie Jarvis, Tenley Dietrich, Jim Busch, Brooks Andrews (Photo by Mark Krancer)

More than 150 attended the 45th Annual Riverside Avondale Preservation meeting, held Feb. 21 at the Episcopal Church of the Good Shepherd, and heard the story of the historic district’s beginnings as well as RAP’s own founding by its founder, Wayne Wood.

Riverside, founded in 1869, will be celebrating its 150 anniversary this year and Avondale, established in 1920, looks forward to its centennial next year. RAP has plans to celebrate both anniversaries in late 2019/early 2020.

At the meeting, highly anticipated awards were bestowed for a variety of preservation efforts and there were new awards categories to recognize residents who help keep the Historic District vibrant and welcoming.

The Architectural Rehabilitation Award, Commercial was given to Mike Shad for the restoration of the 100-year-old Delgado Building on Oak Street, while the Residential Award was given to Phillip Stamborski and Kevin Elphick for revitalizing a rundown Mission-style home at 1355 Challen Ave.

Two Craftsmanship awards were given, first in the commercial category, to Up In Smoke, after George Kassis, owner, Steve Williams, Harbinger Sign, and Lindsay Powell, designer, put their heads together to create an aesthetically appropriate look for the new vape shop in the Shoppes of Avondale. In the residential category, the second Craftsmanship award was given to Patty and Don Destephano, owners of a home at 3528 Oak St., for a backyard makeover which was a truly collaborative effort between the contractor, Jack Bamping, Legacy Construction; landscape designer, Gerry Crouch, Sunscapes Landscape Design, and brick mason, Paul Richman Masonry.

The Best Adaptive Reuse Award was given to Be Still Float Studio, Gina Schimpff, Content Modern, and River City Contractors for an exterior overhaul and interior gutting and transformation of a commercial building at 1050 Riverside Ave.

The award for Outstanding New Construction was given for a new home at 3680 Richmond St., owned by Kristen and John Surface, designed by Starr Sanford Design and built by McAneny Builders in a transitional design perfectly appropriate for the historic district. 

Angelo Miller, Inksmith & Rogers Tattoo Studio, 875 Stockton St., was given the Good Neighbor Award for working with neighbor Richard Ceriello to resolve an issue with the building’s security lighting, which was flooding Ceriello’s home.

 Edie Williams, State Farm agent at 2325 Park St., was given the Stewardship Award for her work in preserving the 1911 historic house for her office, for sponsoring the monthly clean-up efforts at the John Gorrie Dog Park at Riverside Park, and for providing transportation for seniors who attended the Memorial Park Veterans Day concert.

Awards of Merit were given to Michele Luthin, Karen McCombs, Kelly Varn, the 

Memorial Park Association, and the City of Jacksonville Parks, Recreation and Community Services for the same concert, which celebrated the 100th anniversary of the end of World War I and honored the veterans who served in all our nation’s conflicts. 

 Two men were honored with the new Award of Service to the Community. District 14 Councilman Jim Love and his Executive Assistant Kevin Kuzel were recognized for eight years of advocacy for Riverside and Avondale.

The final award of the evening was a surprise to both the recipients and to the person for whom the new award was named. The Wayne Wood Preservation Award was given to John Hurtubise and Richard Goodman for preservation of many properties in the St. Johns Quarter and for their work to successfully have the Quarter rezoned to prevent commercial uses.

The RAP Board of Directors was elected and includes six new board members – Brooks Andrews, Jim Busch, Tenley Diettrich, Laurie Jarvis, Michele Luthin, and Maggie Theoni, as well as returning members Nancy Powell, board chair; Lawson Carr, secretary; Mark Moss, governance; Bill Shelton, treasurer; and Thad Crow, Rick Pariani and Angela Schifanella.

Stepping down after two years were Daniel Miller and Janice Young, after six years, Allan DeVault, and after too many years to count, Dr. Iris Eisenberg.

By Kate A. Hallock
Resident Community News

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)